Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home4/derok6/public_html/thecowboysnation/components/com_sh404sef/shInit.php on line 37
Ring of Honor Will Induct Pearson, Haley and Allen | Team News

The Dallas Cowboys are back to inducting former members into the “Ring of Honor.” There are certainly are plenty of deserving candidates but this year we will see Drew Pearson, Charles Haley and Larry Allen join the exclusive club.

I guess we shouldn’t be surprised that the Ring of Honor selection committee is a one man committee consisting of Jerry Jones and only Jerry Jones.  Jones did mention that he listens to input from all sorts of different people, including the media so here is my 2 cents on future Ring of Honor inductees.

Jimmy Johnson – Yes, the Jimmy/Jerry Show didn’t have a very good ending but he created a dynasty that went 25-7 during his tenure and captured 2 Super Bowls (and arguably handed Barry Switzer a championship in ’96).

Nate Newton – 3 Rings, 6 Pro Bowls and opened semi-truck sized holes for Emmitt Smith to run through. If you put Larry Allen into the ring, Nate has to be there as Larry has always credited Nate Newton as his role model.

Too Tall Jones - Jones is third in franchise history with 106 sacks and was a three-time Pro Bowler, who compiled 13 sacks in 1985. He, along with Pearson, remains one of the more popular Cowboys even in retirement.

Harvey Martin – If you put Too Tall in the Ring, then Martin HAS to go in.  Harvey is the franchise leader in sacks with 114. Martin set a single-season record with 23 sacks in 1977 and was named Associated Press' NFL Defensive Player of the Year and the Super Bowl Co-MVP in that same year.

Let us know who you would put it if Jerry asked for your input.